forever strong.

today i watched forever strong, an inspirational sports (rugby) movie about a troubled teen who needs to make some life changes. this movie is fantastic. so moving. i strongly recommend it to anyone and everyone. i don’t care who you are, or if you like sports. this movie is about much more than playing rugby. it’s about developing character.

some of my favorite quotes from the film:

“You just got to learn to listen and pay attention to that spirit inside you. And learning to listen – that takes a lot of discipline.”

“You boys might think I coach because, uh, I love rugby and I love to win – both true – but I KEEP coaching because of you guys. That’s why I’m more interested in turning out champion boys than champion teams. I want you to be forever strong on the field so you’ll be forever strong off it.”

“I don’t do anything to embarrass myself, my team, or my family.”

“Kia Kaha.”

this movie makes me want to get kia kaha as a tattoo on my wrist, in white (because yes, i am a fan of white tattoos). i know that sounds stupid, to get a tattoo inspired by a movie, but that simple phrase has so much meaning  to me. it means staying strong through hardships; staying strong for myself, my friends, and my family; staying strong when others doubt me, when i doubt myself; staying strong to achieve all that i want to achieve, and to inspire others to do the same.  it’s something i want to live by, yet it’s something so easy for me to doubt and forget.

i don’t know if i’ll ever get this as a tattoo, or if i’ll get a tattoo at all, for that matter. but i know that if i ever get one, i want it to be something meaningful like this, or inner peace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Movies

Leave a comment